VOTE for our Board of Directors

If you’re an owner and have an interest in guiding the future of the co-op, please VOTE for the 2020 Board of Directors. All owners may place one vote per owner share (household). There are 4 candidates this year and 4 seats to fill. Read the candidate bios to learn more about them.

Candidate Bios:
Angelo Arecchi
Kelly Hilliard
Noel Levan
Liz Swank

Plan to vote either in store or online here by November 10th.

Thank you for your commitment to our co-op!

The Food Co-Op Board of Directors

As an owner of the food co-op, you have governance rights, including the right to vote in a Board of Directors election and the right to run for a seat on the Board. If you are interested in running simply fill out and return this application. You may fill out and submit an application at any time – however, the selection of candidates for the 2020 election is now closed.

The staff runs the store and is overseen by the General Manager, who is hired by the Board, and reports monthly to them on progress towards achieving goals and upholding values of the co-op.

Current Board of Directors

Julie Jenkins – President
Lindsay Martin – Vice President
John Paul Ashenfelter – Treasurer

Aniko Safran – Secretary
Noel Levan
Jason E. Ybarra, Ph.D
Allie Emerick
Jennifer Walsh

If you have questions or comments for the Board, please contact them at

Friendly City’s Ends Policy

Friendly City Food Co-op exists so that the Shenandoah Valley has: A vibrant, local economy; Fair and friendly relationships; Healthy, informed consumers and producers; And a healthy environment.

Friendly City’s By-Laws

Click here to view or download our by-laws. Contact us to learn more about our food co-op.